Search All Items
- Filters:
- Language
- English 5310
- Spanish 43
- ENGLISH 2
- English 1
- census_013 1
- Type
- Image 3851
- Still Image 1032
- Text 431
- Text 22
- Textual 13
- Artifact/Ephemera 1
- Photographic--Print 1
Search Results 1971 to 1980 of 5420
-
Caption: "Port Townsend Bicycle Path.," c. 1910. Image of a rural path or road, surrounded by trees and vegetation, with a hill in the distance. The bicycle made its first appearance in the Puget Sound area in the late 1870s. Within twenty years, thousands of enthusiasts had adapted the new mode of transportation. Such enthusiasts often formed clubs, such as the Queen City Good Roads Club, based in Seattle (south of Port Townsend). These clubs advocated, constructed, and helped to maintain pathways dedicated specifically to bicycle traffic. Ironically, the efforts made by the bicyclists to generally improve roadways contributed to the rise of another new mode of transportation -- the automobile.
Date: 1910
-
Caption: "Portals of the Past," c. 1915-1920. A monument in Golden Gate Park in San Francisco, on the shores of Lloyd Lake, consisting of a white marble archway and columns. The archway was originally part of the Nob Hill mansion belonging to railroad tycoon Alban Towne. The mansion was destroyed in the 1906 San Francisco earthquake and fire, but the entryway still stood. It was moved to the shore of Lloyd Lake in 1909, as a memorial to the pre-1906 city.
Date: 1920
-
Caption: "Mt. Tamalpais." Shows the Muir Woods Railway leading to the Tavern of Tamalpais, Marin County, c. 1907.
Date: 1907
-
Caption: "Sisters Hospital -- Walla Walla.," ca. 1920. Five-story brick and stone building. This building is the second hospital built on the site. The first, built in the 1880s by the Sisters of Providence, burned in a 1915 fire. This second building (seen here), constructed in 1916, served as the main hospital building until a new facility was constructed in 1976. The resulting new complex of buildings is now called the Providence St. Mary Medical Center.
Date: 1920
-
Caption: "Carlsbad Caverns -- Inside Looking Out, May, 30, 34." View looking out of the mouth of Carlsbad Cavern, a series of natural underground chambers including the "Big Room," the fifth-largest such chamber in North America with a length of 1,000 feet, a width of 625 feet, and a maximum height of 255 feet. The site was named Carlsbad Cave National Monument in 1923, and declared Carlsbad Caverns National Park in 1930.
Date: 5/30/1934
-
Caption: "Cliff House, San Francisco," c. 1920. The building shown here is the fourth iteration of the Cliff House, a neo-classical design built after a fire destroyed the Victorian structure previously at the site in 1907. Reconstruction of the iconic restaurant began in 1908, and a new Cliff House opened in 1909 (the building in this photograph). The building was extensively remodeled in the 1930s.
Date: 1920
-
Caption: "Cedar Brook," c. 1920. William and Grace McCarthy (at left) standing with two unidentified people, with house in background and automobile next to them.
Date: 1920
-
Caption: "Half Dome," c. 1917. The iconic granite Half Dome rises above the Yosemite Valley. This photograph appears to have been taken from across the Valley.
Date: 1917
-
Caption: "Indian Wigwam, Yosemite National Park," c. 1935, shows Grace and William McCarthy standing at the entrance to an Indian abode covered in tree bark.
Date: 1935