Search All Items
- Filters:
- Language
- English 5811
- Spanish 37
- ENGLISH 2
- English 2
- census_013 1
- contra_costa_schedule_1_volume_1 1
- Type
- Image 3877
- Still Image 1473
- Text 439
- Text 54
- Textual 2
- Image of the California Census from the records of the office of the California Secretary of State 1
Search Results 5541 to 5550 of 5921
-
No Caption: See also 96-07-08-alb08-082 with caption: "The Olympic Snow-capped Mountains," Washington, c. 1908. Vista of the Olympic Mountains in the distance. In the middle distance to the right can be seen the Eisenbeis Castle (now known as the Manresa Castle Restaurant and Lounge), built in 1892 by Charles Eisenbeis, a businessman and Port Townsend's first mayor. The photograph is centered around what appears to be a resort hotel situated a short distance from the Eisenbeis Castle.
Date: 1908
-
Caption: "Rose Carnival -- Portland." Features a parade float shaped as a swan, with roses, an American flag, and a sign reading "peace." The Portland Rose Festival began in 1907 as the Rose Carnival. It is now an annual festival featuring three parades, including the Grand Floral Parade, the second-largest all-floral parade in the nation (the largest being the Tournament of Roses held each New Year in Pasadena, California).
Date: 1925
-
Caption: "Alum Rock," c. 1910. Grace McCarthy standing in front of a gazebo in Alum Rock Park. The park, founded in 1872, is one of California's oldest municipal parks. The gazebo, the park's oldest standing structure (built in about 1890), features a fountain that used to supply water from the mineral springs in the area. Today, the fountain's water comes from the City of San Jose's municipal supply.
Date: 1910
-
Caption: "6 inch Howitzers -- Camp Kearney," c. 1917. View of several 6" Howitzers, as well as several outbuildings and a line of artillery weapons under canvas covers. William McCarthy is standing next to the middle Howitzer. Camp Kearney was established by the U.S. Army in 1917 just north of San Diego. The post was largely abandoned by the government in 1920, used as a military and civilian airfield. It did not see increased military service again until the 1930s.
Date: 1917
-
Caption: "Call Building," c. 1906. Completed in 1898 and designed by civic leader Claus Spreckels, the Call building on the corner of 3rd and Market streets was one of the first skyscrapers in San Francisco, built to house the San Francisco Call newspaper offices. While the structure withstood the 1906 earthquake, the interior caught fire and sustained considerable damage. After major renovations, the building is today known as The Central Tower.
Date: 1906
-
Caption: "Toll Gate -- St Helena Mountain.," c. 1920. Toll gate consists of a long wooden spar across the road, with a small building to the right. Grace McCarthy is standing next to an automobile at the gate. The St. Helena Toll Road, now part of California State Route 29, connected the Napa Valley with Lake County. It was built in 1868, and purchased by the State of California in 1925.
Date: 1920
-
Chinese Drugs, Teas, and Herbs Kept at the Old Place by Dr. Y. Chuing Lee
Date: 1891
-
This item has no description.
Date: undated
-
Caption: "General U.S. Grants [sic] Tomb, Riverside Drive. New York, Aug. 10, 1934." The remains of Ulysses S. Grant, 18th President of the U.S. and Commanding General of the Union Army during the last year of the Civil War, were laid to rest in this elaborate tomb. Grant died in 1885, but construction on the tomb did not begin until 1891. Grant's remains were transferred to the tomb on April 27, 1897.
Date: 8/10/1934
-
Caption: "East Lake [sic] Park," c. 1910. Eastlake Park in Los Angeles was originally created by the city in 1881 under the name "East Los Angeles Park." Renamed Eastlake Park in 1901, it gained its current name, Lincoln Park, in 1917. In this photograph, Grace McCarthy, seen from across East Lake, stands at the lake's edge on the right, surrounded by lush vegetation and park benches.
Date: 1910