Bookmarks
Showing Bookmarks 1 to 8 of 8
-
Caption: "Casino Santa Cruz," c. 1910-1915, on the Santa Cruz boardwalk, opened in 1907, replacing the original 1904 casino that had burned down in 1906. See also 96-07-08-alb03-007.
Date: 1915
-
Caption: "Fort Flagler before Barracks were Built.," c. 1899-1906. The coastal artillery fortification Fort Flagler was established in 1897 and activated in 1899. Most of the fort's buildings and batteries had been completed by 1907. Fort Flagler was part of the "triangle of fire," three coastal defense fortifications (Fort Casey, Fort Worden, and Fort Flagler) guarding the entrance to Puget Sound. Fort Flagler was decommissioned in 1953, and purchased by the State of Washington in 1955 for use as a state park.
Date: 1899
-
No caption. Red pennant with white writing reading "Yosemite Celebration of July 4th 1917."
Date: 1917
-
No Caption: People at the overhanging rocks at Glacier Point, Yosemite National Park, c. 1935.
Date: 1935
-
Caption: "Half Dome," c. 1917. The iconic granite Half Dome rises above the Yosemite Valley. This photograph appears to have been taken from across the Valley.
Date: 1917
-
No caption, c. 1935. Lucy Parker Telles, a Mono Lake Paiute, lived in the Yosemite Valley. She was part of a group of Native American women who became well-known for their intricate basket weaving.
Date: 1935
-
Caption: "Examiner Cartoon." Photograph of a cartoon that appeared in the San Francisco Examiner in the aftermath of the 1906 earthquake and fire. The cartoon shows a defiant grizzly bear representing San Francisco, pierced by three arrows labeled "Earthquake," "Fire," and "Famine." The word "UNDAUNTED!" appears above the bear.
Date: 1906
-
Caption: "P. and O. R.R. Key West to Miami -- Florida. July 2, 1934." View of railroad tracks running over water to an island in the distance. This is likely part of the Overseas Railroad, an extension of the Florida East Coast Railway, built to connect Key West with the Florida mainland.
Date: 7/2/1934