Bookmarks
Showing Bookmarks 1 to 8 of 8
-
Caption: "Midway Point.," c. 1920. Now-iconic image of a rocky outcropping near Pebble Beach, extending into the Pacific Ocean, with a single cypress tree near the top. This tree, sometimes referred to as the "Lone Cypress," has been photographed extensively over the past century. This tree and outcropping can still be seen as part of the 17-Mile Drive, a scenic road tour of the Pebble Beach Resort area in Monterey County.
Date: 1920
-
Caption: "Niagara Falls," c. 1925. View of the three waterfalls that make up the iconic Niagara Falls straddling the border between Ontario, Canada, and the State of New York. From left to right, the falls are called American Falls, Bridal Veil Falls (the smallest of the three), and Horseshoe Falls.
Date: 1925
-
Caption: "Beezle Bill," c. 1935. This is possibly a postcard that shows a comical creature made with parts of pine cones, acorns, feathers, and nuts.
Date: 1935
-
Caption: "Elcampo [sic] Grove," c. 1908. William McCarthy on the left, with four unidentified people at El Campo Grove in Marin County.
Date: 1908
-
Caption: "94 Midwood St. Brooklyn." View of a three-story brick house or apartment building, with a park or empty lot on one side. See also 96-07-08-alb11-235, where the building is captioned as "The Walsh Home."
Date: 9/2/1934
-
Caption: "Fountain of El Dorado" (Gertrude Vanderbilt Whitney, sculptor), within the West Colonnade of the Tower of Jewels at the Panama-Pacific International Exposition.
Date: 1915
-
Caption: "State Capitol -- Nevada." Dome of Nevada's Neoclassical Italianate State Capitol Building, constructed between 1869 and 1871 in Carson City. Trees obscure much of the building.
Date: 1927
-
Caption: "A.Y.P.E. Entrance." See also 96-07-08-alb08-121. The Alaska-Yukon-Pacific Exposition was held in Seattle, Washington in 1909 to celebrate the development of the Pacific Northwest. The fair attracted 3.7 million visitors over the course of its run from June to October 1909. Although most of the fair's buildings have since been destroyed, several of them now serve as part of the University of Washington campus.
Date: 1909